Club Awards

Adelaide Honors Club Stalwarts
Lisa Albergo's picture

by Lisa Albergo reporting for AFANA from Chicago

To coincide with the 25th anniversary of the club's entry into the AFL, the Adelaide Crows held their first Hall Of Fame induction on April 29. The inductees were two-time premiership coach Malcolm Blight, former chairmen Bob Hammond and Bill Sanders, former captain and current board member Mark Ricciuto and fellow club champions Andrew McLeod, Ben Hart, Tony Modra and Simon Goodwin.

Troubled Didak Still A Pie
Scott Lockhart's picture

We can work it out...

Alan Didak looks set to remain with Collingwood despite being essentially sacked for misconduct just two months ago.

One could be forgiven for being certain that Didak had worn the black and white for the final time after he was suspended by the club for a drink driving accident and his subsequent lies to the football club in August.

Post Grand Final News
Lisa Albergo's picture

The season may be over, but business continues...

Hawthorn's Sam Mitchell was reported during the Grand Final for forceful front-on contact against Geelong's Gary Ablett. The Match Review Panel (MRP) reviewed the incident and determined that Mitchell's contact on Ablett was caused by Mitchell being pushed into Ablett by Cat Cameron Ling. The MRP further determined that Mitchell did try to minimize the impact by trying to slow down before making contact with Ablett. They also determined that most of the contact was made to Ablett's shoulder and that the minimal contact made by Mitchell to Ablett's head was an attempt by Mitchell to protect himself. The charge was dismissed

Lisa Albergo's picture

Finals time is awards time, too

Fremantle's Rhys Palmer is the 2008 Rising Star. The presentation of the Ron Evans Medal was made this week at a function which also included the naming of the 2008 All-Australian team. Palmer, 19, won with 44 votes. Hawthorn's Cyril Rioli polled 37 votes and Richmond's Trent Cotchin polled 21 votes. The next three were Carlton's Matthew Kreuzer (11 votes), Fremantle's Garrick Ibbotson (seven) and West Coast's Ben McKinley (six). Collingwood's Nathan Brown (three), Melbourne's Cale Morton (three), Port Adelaide's Alipate Carlile (two) and Demon Austin Wonaeamirri (one picked up the remaining votes.

Footy FAQ: Major Awards
bmorecrowsfan96's picture

6. Major Awards

Syndicate content