Skip to main content

The following is the time line for the the Grand Final day events including key times for match and TV related activities.   All times are listed first in Australian AEST and then in US EDT.  This is based on information from the AFL and past history.  (We have an article on the days events and entertainers with details here.)  (Updated with honored legends, olympians, etc.):

Time AEST/US EDT  Event             
9:00 AM / 7:00 PM NAB AFL U/16 Division 2 Grand Final - Northern Territories v Tasmania (live on  Coverage on the AFL web site will commence from 8.50 AM AEST / 6:50 PM EDT and be hosted by Peter Donegan and Jason Bennett. AFL Youth and High Performance Coordinator Jason McCartney and AIS-AFL High Performance Coach Alan McConnell will provide special comments.
10:40 AM / 8:40 PM NAB AFL U/16 Division 2 Grand Final concludes
10:55 AM / 8:55 PM NAB AFL U/16 Division 1 Grand Final - Victoria Metro v Western Australia (live on
11:37 AM / 9:37 PM Division 1 half time - Grand Final Sprint heats
12:39 PM / 10:39 PM NAB AFL U/16 Division 1 Grand Final concludes
12:43 PM / 10:43 PM On-field presentation of Div. 1 and 2 Grand Final awards
12.55 PM / 10:55 PM On-field pre-match set up
1:10 PM / 11:10 PM Delivery of match footballs to Umpires
1.15 PM – 1.30 PM / 11:15 PM – 11:30 PM On-field warm-up opportunity for competing clubs

Stage and sound set in centre square
1:30 PM / 11:30 PM International TV feed begins including coverage on Setanta
1.35 PM / 11:35 PM 
Pre-match entertainment commences
1:34 PM / 11:34 PM Legends and greats introduced (time approximate)
1:41 PM / 11:41 PM Season review (time approximate)
2.00 PM / 12:00 MN Pre-match entertainment concludes
2:00 PM – 2:12 PM / 12:00 MN – 12:12 AM Arena cleared and reset
2:12 PM / 12:12 AM Cheer squads and banners set
2.15 PM / 12:15 AM Umpires enter the arena on cue         
2.16 PM / 12:16 AM Hawthorn enters the arena on cue / team photo              
2.19 PM / 12:19 AM Geelong enters the arena on cue / team photo            
2.27 PM / 12:27 AM Australian National Anthem ("Advance Australia Fair") sung by Amanda Harrison and Lucy Durack     
2.28 PM / 12:28 AM Two sirens sound and Toss of Coin           
2.30 PM / 12:30 AM
2008 Toyota AFL Grand Final commences 
3.40 PM / 1:40 AM approx Half-time – Grand Final Sprint; AFL Auskick kids perform      
5:15 PM / 3:15 AM approx End of match;
AFL Grand Final presentations          
Tony Shaw presents Norm Smith Medal; Ron Barrasi presents Jock McHale medal to winning coach                                    

Runners-up team captain to dais; Norm Smith Medallist to dais;
Winning team captain to dais, Medals presented by either Bob Davis or Graham Arthur to winning team; team photo
"We are the Champions" played (not confirmed)         
6:00 PM / 4:00 AM Post match events and television coverage concludes including on Setanta
6:00 PM / 4:00 AM After Match Concert begins at Federation Square, The Script performs followed by Gyroscope one hour later.
6:00 PM / 4:00 AM Media Conference - Runners Up
6:20 PM / 4:20 AM Media Conference - Premiers
7:30 PM / 5:30 AM Premiers depart MCG for presentation at Federation Square
8:00 PM / 6:00 AM Presentation of Winning Team at Federation Square


Hall of Fame
Gavin Brown
Garry Hocking
Glen Jakovich
Tom McArthur
Geof Motley
Kevin Sheedy
Noel Teasdale
Des Tuddenham

Retiring Greats
Heath Black
Michael Braun
Nathan Buckley
Scott Burns
Martin Ellis
Shannon Grant
Darren Goldspink
Robert Harvey
Ben Holland
Jason Johnson
Mark Johnson
Nigel Lappin
Ben Mathews
Shaun McManus
Mal Michael
David Neitz
Jess Sinclair
Nathan Thompson
Darryl Wakelin
Shane Wakelin
Michael Wilson
Scott West

Coleman Medallist
Lance Franklin

Brownlow Medallist
Adam Cooney

Rising Star
Rhys Palmer

Bronte Barrett
Scott Brennan
David Crawshay
Steve Hooker
Linda MacKenzie
Malcolm Page
Kylie Palmer
Tessa Parkinson
Elise Rechichi
Shayne Reese
Jessica Schipper
Melanie Schlanger
Emily Seebohm
Emma Snowsill
James Tomkins
Nathan Wilmott

Ben Austin
Dylan Alcott
Sam Bramham
Matt Cowdrey
Justin Eveson
Heath Francis
Michael Gallagher
Peter Leek
Lisa McIntosh
Evan O’Hanlon
Rick Pendleton
Troy Sachs
Chris Scott
Christine Wolf

Article last changed on Friday, September 26, 2008 - 9:07 PM EDT

Recent content


Our Favorite Footy Podcasts

A Yank on the Footy


Donnie's Disposal


Americans Watching the Footy

Shorten URLs



We Recommend:


  • The future of vitamins is here! Say goodbye to generic multivitamins cluttering your table top. 
  • With Vitable, you get personalized daily vitamin packs tailored to your unique diet, lifestyle and health needs.
  • All you need to do is complete a simple online quiz and unlock your expert recommendation. 
  • Join the 400,000+ people embracing the Vitable way with 40% OFF your first order
  • Use the promo code AFANA40 at checkout.