Skip to main content

by Lisa Albergo reporting for AFANA from Chicago

One week after winning his second Brownlow Medal (ahead of Geelong's Gary Ablett and Collingwood's Dane Swan), Chris Judd has won his third consecutive John Nicholls Medal as Carlton's best and fairest. Judd, who was presented with the medal by Nicholls, has won the medal every year since he joined the club.

Judd was the runaway winner with 473 votes, well ahead of second placed Jordan Russell. It is a remarkable achievement by Judd, as is his Brownlow win, since he missed the first three games due to suspension for a report at the end of the 2009 season. He is fast becoming one of the most decorated players of his era. Since his debut in 2002, Judd has won a raft of awards. He won his first Brownlow in 2004 while with West Coast. He also won two best and fairest medals while at the Eagles and the Norm Smith Medal as best on ground in the Eagles' 2005 Grand Final loss to Sydney (only the fourth player to do so in a losing Grand Final team). In 2006, he was named the AFLPA's MVP.

Runner-up Jordan Russell played every game in 2010 and had his best season for Carlton. He had a career high 463 possessions for the year and was second on the team list for marks (catch of the ball) with 137. His second placing betters his sixth place finish in 2009.

Murphy, who finished second in 2009, had an interrupted 2010 preseason due to hip surgery in January and got off to a slow start. However, he still managed 22 games and finished the year strongly.

The Voting: Each member of the five man match committee awards votes independently to up to eight players per game. The maximum votes any player can receive per game is ten.

The Top Ten:
Chris Judd  473
Jordan Russell  354
Marc Murphy  343
Bryce Gibbs  322
Andrew Carrazzo  310
Kade Simpson  300
Jeffery Garlett  279
Heath Scotland  243
Eddie Betts  217
Aaron Joseph  197

Other Awards:
Best First Year Player - Kane Lucas
Best Clubman - Michael Jamison
Spirit of Carlton Encouragement Award - Jeff Garlett

Women of Carlton Player Ambassador of the Year Award for consistency, onfield and off field excellence and contributions to the community - Aaron Joseph

The Carltonians Achievement Award for an outstanding season - Kade Simpson

Source: Stephen Wilson, Club Media Release

Article last changed on Wednesday, September 29, 2010 - 8:43 PM EDT

Recent content


Our Favorite Footy Podcasts

A Yank on the Footy


Donnie's Disposal


Americans Watching the Footy

Shorten URLs



We Recommend:


  • The future of vitamins is here! Say goodbye to generic multivitamins cluttering your table top. 
  • With Vitable, you get personalized daily vitamin packs tailored to your unique diet, lifestyle and health needs.
  • All you need to do is complete a simple online quiz and unlock your expert recommendation. 
  • Join the 400,000+ people embracing the Vitable way with 40% OFF your first order
  • Use the promo code AFANA40 at checkout.