Skip to main content

Footy FAQ: AFL Clubs, Club History, and Attendances

5. Australian Football League Clubs

This FAQ has detailed information on each of the current and historical AFL clubs. Eighteen clubs compete in the Australian Football League. Only two clubs have ever folded in the AFL (or VFL): University was merged into Melbourne in 1914, and Fitzroy into Brisbane in 1996. In 1982, South Melbourne relocated to Sydney. A list of details for each AFL team follows.

Recent content

Official Statistics Partner of AFANA