Skip to main content

by Lisa Albergo reporting for AFANA from Chicago

Brisbane midfielder Michael Rischitelli is the 2010 club best and fairest, despite his earlier announcement that he would be joining the Gold Coast. His previous best finish was sixth in 2008. His win ends Jonathan Brown's streak of three consecutive wins. Rischitelli polled 37.5 votes, three clear of second placed Simon Black and nine votes ahead of Jonathan Brown. Following Brown were Luke Power (27.5), Jack Redden (26.5), Ashley McGrath (25.5), Brent Staker (25), Daniel Rich (24.5), Matthew Leuenberger (24) and Todd Banfield (23.5).

The match committee rates each player 0-5, recognizing durability, consistency and excellence.

Rischitelli played every game this season and led the club in kicks, handballs, marks and contested possessions. He also averaged 24 possessions per game.

Other Awards
Players' Player of the Year: Simon Black
Most Courageous Award: Jonathan Brown
Most Professional Player: Daniel Merrett
Rookie of the Year: Tom Rockliff
The Courier Mail Player of the Year: Simon Black
Members' Player of the Year: Jonathan Brown

Source: Sam Lord, Club Media Release

Young West Coast forward Mark LeCras has won his first best and fairest award. He polled 294 votes to edge out Matt Priddis (286 votes). Beau Waters (281), Dean Cox (271) and Nic Naitanui (252) completed the top five. Finishing in the top 10 were Josh Kennedy (251), Matt Rosa (247), Andrew Embley (246), Brad Ebert (241) and Scott Selwood (227).

LeCras had a fine season, kicking 63 goals in 21 games. His best game was in Round 16 when he kicked 12 goals against Essendon. LeCras expressed surprise at being named along with past champions. He said he felt honored at the recognition as well as a bit uncomfortable being in such elite company. Past winners include Darren Glass, Dean Cox, Ben Cousins and Chris Judd. He believes the West Coast football club will be big improvers in 2011.

Each member of the five-man match committee votes for each player in a game on a scale 0-5 scale.

Other Awards
Chris Mainwaring Award (best clubman): Mark Nicoski
Nicoski, who played just six games due to a shoulder injury, used his time on the sidelines to take on a mentoring role with draftees Lewis Broome, Ryan Neates and Gerrick Weedon.

Rookie of the Year: Nic Natanui
Naitanui, who was an early favorite for the Rising Star Award, won the award as recognition of his determination to play out the season even though he was carrying a shoulder injury.


Kane Cornes has won Port Adelaide's best and fairest for the third time in four seasons. His previous wins were in 2007 and 2008. His consistency over the years has seen him place in the top three in seven consecutive years. There was only one game in 2010 in which he did not garner a vote from the match committee.

Each member of the committee awards 0-4 votes to each player. The most any one player can receive per game is 20 votes.

Following Cornes were Troy Chaplan, Alipate Carlile, Travis Boak, Danyle Pearce, Domenic Cassisi, Dean Brogan and Justin Westhoff. Tom Logan, Brett Ebert and Jay Schulz tied for tenth spot in the voting.

Other Awards
Best Under-21Player: Jackson Trengrove
Fos Williams Medal (voted by the players): Domenic Cassisi
Best First Year Player: Cameron Hitchcock
Most Improved Player: Paul Stewart

Source: Daniel Norton, Club Media Release

Article last changed on Tuesday, September 14, 2010 - 10:44 AM EDT

Recent content

Shorten URLs



See Every AFL Match
On Your TV or Device!


Subscribe to WatchAFL and see every Aussie Rules match live or delayed! Subscribe at .

We Recommend:


  • The future of vitamins is here! Say goodbye to generic multivitamins cluttering your table top. 
  • With Vitable, you get personalized daily vitamin packs tailored to your unique diet, lifestyle and health needs.
  • All you need to do is complete a simple online quiz and unlock your expert recommendation. 
  • Join the 400,000+ people embracing the Vitable way with 40% OFF your first order
  • Use the promo code AFANA40 at checkout.