Skip to main content

by Lisa Albergo reporting for AFANA from Chicago

One week after the drawn Grand Final, there was another tie. While nowhere near as dramatic or media grabbing, it did set another record. Veteran Kangaroo Brent Harvey took out his fifth best and fairest award. He was not alone as fellow veteran Brady Rawlings tied with Harvey to win his third club champion award. Harvey's previous wins came in 2003, 2005, 2007 and 2008. He was previously tied on four best and fairest wins with Wayne Carey, David Dench and Noel Teasdale.

Harvey averaged 25 possessions per game this season. He had one of the best games of his career against West Coast in Round Three with 19 kicks, 25 handballs, 11 marks (catch of the ball) and a goal. He also played his 300th game against the Eagles in Round 21.

Rawlings, who won the award previously in 2004 and 2006, had a career best season in defense, averaging 28 possessions. His best game came against Fremantle in Round 19. In that 54 point win, he had 13 kicks, 26 handballs and eight marks. Falling an agonizingly close third was the 2009 winner Andrew Swallow. He finished one vote shy of tying with Harvey and Rawlings.

Voting: the four members of the match committee award votes on a 0-10 scale. The most votes a player can be awarded in any one game is 40.

Top 10
Brent Harvey - 44
Brady Rawlings - 44
Andrew Swallow - 43
Leigh Adams - 26 (countback, 2 x 4 votes)*
Daniel Wells - 26 (countback, 5 x 3 votes)*
Michael Firrito - 26 (countback, 4 x 3 votes)*
Nathan Grima - 23 (countback, 1 x 4, 1 x 3, 7 x 2 votes)*
Levi Greenwood -23 (countback, 1 x 4, 1 x 3, 4 x 2 votes)*
Todd Goldstein - 22 (countback, 1 x 4 votes)*
Ryan Bastinac - 22 (countback, 1 x 3 votes)*

*Count back - a system to break ties whereby the tie is broken by tabulating how many higher votes a player gets over another.

Other Awards:
Community Award: Andrew Swallow
Best Clubman: Drew Petrie
Glenn Archer Northerners Award: Michael Firrito
Best First- Year Player: Ryan Bastinac
Jason McCartney Jumper: Brady Rawlings
Cheer Squad Determination Award: Brady Rawlings
Supporters' Player of the Year: Brent Harvey
Life membership: Drew Petrie, Leigh Harding, Corey Jones

On the night, long time director Ron Joseph announced his resignation. Joseph, who has also been a player manager for many years, has been involved with North Melbourne off and on for 45 years. In making his announcement, Joseph said it had been a wonderful journey which had been full of highs and lows. He also predicted the Kangaroos were on their way up again.

Source: Heath O'Loughlin, Club Media Release

Sydney midfielder Kieran Jack is the 2010 Sydney best and fairest. In a close finish, Jack won with 553 votes, with young ruckman Shane Mumford second on 545 votes. Josh Kennedy came in third with 542 votes. Jack, who switched from rugby and debuted in 2007, led the team in tackles, was third for kicks and contested possessions, fourth for ball disposal and second for Inside 50's (delivering the ball into the team's scoring zone). He also kicked 21 goals for the year. Jack, who has gone from a negating player to a more attacking role, has played 71 games for the Swans and just signed a new three year contract.

Mumford, 24, was originally rookie-listed by Geelong and played 21 games 2008-2009 before being traded to the Swans. He was the number one ruckman and was impressive in the ruck as well as at ground level.

Kennedy, 22, is the son of Hawthorn star John Kennedy, Jr and grandson of legendary Hawthorn coach John Kennedy, Sr. He managed just 13 games with Hawthorn in three years before being traded to Sydney at the end of 2009. Like Jack, he has become a valuable midfielder and played all 24 games in 2010.

Voting: the five members of the match committee can each award up to ten votes for each player per game. The maximum votes a player can receive per game is 50.

Top 10
Kieren Jack - 553
Shane Mumford -545
Josh Kennedy - 542
Jarrad McVeigh - 497
Heath Grundy - 495
Adam Goodes - 464
Nick Malceski - 460
Brett Kirk - 455
Ryan O'Keefe - 444
Daniel Hannebery - 418

Other Awards:
The Paul Kelly Players' Player Award - Adam Goodes
This award is voted upon by the 22 senior players after each game

Rising Star Award - Dan Hannebery (also won the AFL Rising Star Award)

Dennis Carroll Trophy for Most Improved Player - Mike Pyke

This award, decided by the Match Committee, is based on votes in 2010 compared to 2009 and other criteria. Pyke, 26, was recruited from Canada where he played rugby. He joined the Swans in 2008. He played 18 games in 2010 as backup ruckman to Mumford.

Barry Round Trophy for Best Clubman - Ted Richards (decided by the Match Committee)

Paul Roos Award for Best Player in the Finals - Josh Kennedy (decided by the Match Committee)

Source: Jenny McAsey, Club Media Release

Essendon captain Jobe Watson is the 2010 club best and fairest winner for a second consecutive year. Watson won with 291 votes, well ahead of second-placed Heath Hocking with 241 votes. Jason Winderlich was third with 231 votes. Watson had his best game in the Round 17 win over North Melbourne with 38 possessions, three tackles and two goals. Watson finished seventh in the Brownlow Medal vote. He joined the Bombers under the father-son rule in 2002, debuted in 2003 and has played 115 games and kicked 44 goals. His father Tim, currently active in the media, also captained the Bombers and is a four time best and fairest winner.

Voting: three members of the match committee can award to 10 votes to a maximum of eight players per game.

Top Ten
Jobe Watson - 291
Heath Hocking - 241
Jason Winderlich - 231
Dustin Fletcher - 225
Brent Stanton -167
Nathan Lovett-Murray -164
Mark McVeigh -156
Ben Howlett -154
Alwyn Davey -144
Angus Monfries -143

Other Awards:
Best Clubman Award - Heath Hocking
Leading Goal Kicking Award - Angus Monfries
Club Rising Star Award - Ben Howlett
Most Improved Player Award - David Zaharakis
Adam Ramanauskas Most Courageous Player Award - Tayte Pears
Striving for Excellence Award - Angus Monfries
Bill Hutchison Award -Nathan Lovett-Murray

Source: Cara Pelchen, Club Media Release

Bulldog Ryan Griffen has won his first best and fairest award. Griffen, who debuted in 2005, had a breakout season this year in the midfield. He has just signed a new two year contract. Fellow midfielder and the 2008 winner Daniel Cross was second and, despite preseason ankle surgery, played every game this year. Daniel Giansiracusa finished third ahead of the last year's winner Matthew Boyd. Giansiracusa played every game this year and kicked 35 goals.

Voting: the four members of the match committee each award 1-5 votes per player per game.

Top Ten
Ryan Griffen -137
Daniel Cross -126
Daniel Giansiracusa -113
Matthew Boyd -111
Robert Murphy -105
Ben Hudson -102
Brian Lake - 99
Adam Cooney - 97
Barry Hall - 93 Votes
Dale Morris - 83 Votes

Other Awards:
Best First Year Player - Jordan Roughead
Most Promising Player - Easton Wood

Scott West Most Courageous - Liam Picken
This award was introduced in 2007 and named for seven time best and fairest winner Scott West, who was renowned for his courage.

Brad Johnson Best Team Player - Ben Hudson
Previously known as the Match Committee Award, now named to honor the just retired Brad Johnson. The award recognizes team spirit and dedication.

Community Award - Sam Reid
Introduced in 207 and awarded by the Bulldogs' Community Club, it recognizes a player's work in, and commitment to, community programs supported by the club.

Source: David McNamara, Club Media Release

Article last changed on Thursday, October 14, 2010 - 9:10 PM EDT

Recent content

Official Statistics Partner of AFANA