Skip to main content

The following is the time line for the the Grand Final day events including key times for match and TV related activities.   All times are listed first in Australian AEST and then in US EDT.  This is based on information from the AFL, AFANA, press reports and past history. This story will be periodically updated with late information.  (Revised 9/28/12)

Start Time AEST Start Time US EDT End Time AEST End Time US EDT Event US / Can Network Coverage
7:00 AM 5:00 PM 11:00 AM 9:00 PM Season in Review / Grand Final Day from the MCG (Ch. Seven Australia) Not available in US or Canada. None
11:00 AM 9:00 PM Grand Final Preview (Relayed from Ch. Seven Australia). SEN radio pregame begins. Coverage on FSP begins. Fox Soccer Plus (FSP)
12:00 NN 10:00 PM     K-Rock, Triple M, ABC, 3AW, and Crocmedia radio pregame begins Same
12:05 PM 10:05 PM Cadbury AFL 9s exhibition Same
12:20 PM 10:20 PM Presentation of the TAC Cup premiership team Same
12:25 PM 10:25 PM Gillette AFL Grand Final Sprint heats. Same
12:30 PM 10:30 PM 12:35 PM 10:35 PM AIS-AFL Academy Squad and Photograph Same
12:37 PM 10:37 PM Tim Rogers performs Same
12:50 PM 10:50 PM Lifebroker Goal and Mark of the Year announcement and the Toyota Unbreakable Moments Same
12:55 PM 10:55 PM     Delivery of match footballs to Umpires Same
1.00 PM 11:00 PM     On field pre-match set up; NIRS radio pregame begins Same
1:08 PM 11:08 PM Welcome to Country by Wurundjeri elder Aunty Joy Murphy Same
1:12 PM 11:12 PM Gillette AFL Grand Final Sprint (final) . Same
1:20 PM 11:20 PM NAB Auskick kids perform. Same
1:30 PM 2:00 PM Channel 7 Australia is the lead broadcaster and the commentary team is lead by Bruce McAvaney and Dennis Cometti with Brian Taylor, Leigh Matthews, Mick Malthouse, Luke Darcy, Matthew Richardson, Tom Harley, Cameron Ling, Tim Watson, Brett Kirk, Hamish McLachlan and Basil Zempilas.TSN2 joins the coverage. FSP / TSN2
1:31 PM 11:31 PM     Team highlights on screen and on banners (TBC) Same
1:40 PM 11:40 PM 1:55 PM 11:55 PM Preliminary on field warm up opportunity for competing clubs Same
1:50 PM 11:50 PM 1:58 PM 11:58 PM Paul Kelly performs.
2.00 PM 12:00 MN  2:08 PM  12:08 AM Retiring players presentation with around the ground motorcade along with Olympic and Paralympic gold medallists.. See list below this timeline. Same
2:08 PM 12:08 AM     Virgin aircraft fly over. Same
2:12 PM 12:12 AM     Cheer squads and banners set Same
2.12 PM 12:12 AM     Umpires enter the arena on cue (Simon Meredith, Bret Rosebury, Matt Stevic, Matt Nicholls [emergency]) Same
2.14 PM 12:14 AM     Sydney Swans enter the arena on cue & team photo Same
2.17 PM 12:17 AM     Hawthorn Hawks enters the arena on cue & team photo Same
2:25 PM 12:25 AM Delivery of the premiership cup by club legends.  Same
2.26 PM 12:26 AM     Australian National Anthem ("Advance Australia Fair") sung by Marina Prior Same
2.28 PM 12:28 AM     Two sirens sound and Toss of Coin       Same
2.30 PM 12:30 AM     2012 Toyota AFL Grand Final commences Same
3.40 PM 1:40 AM     (times approx.) Half time (25 mins) – Entertainment by The Temper Trap Same
5:15 PM 3:15 AM     (times approx.) End of match; AFL Grand Final presentations Same
        Tony Jewell will present the Jock McHale Medal to the winning Grand Final coach and Dean Kemp will present the Norm Smith Medal to this year's best on ground during the Grand Final.
        Runners up team captain to dais; Norm Smith Medallist to dais; Winning team captain to dais, Premiership medallions presented by NAB AFL Auskick competitors. Premiership Cup presented by either TBA if Hawthorn wins and and TBA if Sydney wins followed by team photo.  
6:00 PM 4:00 AM     Post match events and television coverage concludes on TSN2. Coverage on FSP continues. Radio coverage on Triple M concludes. FSP and radio coverage continues
6:00 PM 4:00 AM     After Match Concert begins at MCG Same as above.
6:10 PM 4:10 AM     Media Conference - Runners Up
Temper Trap performs on MCG ground
6:30 PM 4:30 AM Coverage on Fox Soccer Plus concludes. Radio coverage on NIRS concludes. Radio only from this point
6:35 PM 4:35 AM     Media Conference - Premiers Same
6:40 PM 4:40 AM Paul Kelly performs on MCG ground Same
7:00 PM 5:00 AM All other radio coverage concludes. None
7:15 PM 5:15 AM     Presentation of Winning Team at MCG None


Hall of Fame
Bob Johnson (deceased)
Glen Archer
Graham Cornes
Shane Crawford
Chris Grant
Robert Harvey

Legend of the Game
Barry Cable

Retiring Greats
Chance Bateman
Cameron Bruce
Amon Buchanon
Josh Drummond
Josh Fraser
Lindsay Gilbee
Brad Green
Antoni Grover
Ryan Hargrove
James McDonald
Mark McVeigh
Brad Miller
Kelvin Moore
James Mulligan
Luke Power
Matthew Scarlett
Chris Tarrant
David Wojcinski
* in around the ground motorcade prior to match.

Coleman Medallist
Jack Riewoldt

Brownlow Medallist
Jobe Watson

Rising Star
Daniel Talia

Article last changed on Friday, September 28, 2012 - 6:04 PM EDT

Recent content


Our Favorite Footy Podcasts

A Yank on the Footy


Donnie's Disposal


Americans Watching the Footy

Shorten URLs


ENJOY Three Months Free! 

VPN for Sports!

  • Need to access sports broadcasts that are blocked in your area? You need a VPN!
  • With ExpressVPN, you get a flexible VPN service that can be adjusted on the fly.
  • More than 105 countries supported.
  • The best part? Click on this offer and get 3 months FREE!
  • AFANA independently selects products we recommend through experience,
    and we may earn commissions on your order.

We Recommend:


  • The future of vitamins is here! Say goodbye to generic multivitamins cluttering your table top. 
  • With Vitable, you get personalized daily vitamin packs tailored to your unique diet, lifestyle and health needs.
  • All you need to do is complete a simple online quiz and unlock your expert recommendation. 
  • Join the 400,000+ people embracing the Vitable way with 40% OFF your first order
  • Use the promo code AFANA40 at checkout.
  • AFANA independently selects products we recommend through experience,
    and we may earn commissions on your order.