Skip to main content

The following is the time line for the the Grand Final day events including key times for match and TV related activities. All times are listed first in Australian AEST and then in US EDT. This is based on information from the AFL, AFANA, press reports and past history. This story will be periodically updated with late information. (Revised 9/26/13 We have had major reductions in US coverage.Awaiting word on Canada. See our note here.)

Start Time AEST Start Time US EDT End Time AEST End Time US EDT Event US / Can Network Coverage
7:00 AM 5:00 PM 11:00 AM 9:00 PM AFL Game Day from the MCG (Ch. Seven Australia) Not available in US or Canada. None
10:00 AM 8:00 PM 3AW radio pregame begins. First radio coverage
11:00 AM 9:00 PM Grand Final Preview (Relayed from Ch. Seven Australia). Not available in US or Canada. SEN radio pregame begins. Same
12:00 NN 10:00 PM     Triple M, ABC, FiveAA, 6PR, Crocmedia, and K-Rock begin radio coverage. Same
12:05 PM 10:05 PM Cadbury AFL 9s exhibition Same
12:20 PM 10:20 PM Presentation of the TAC Cup premiership team Same
12:30 PM 10:30 PM 12:35 PM 10:35 PM AIS-AFL Academy Squad and Photograph Same
12:40 PM 10:40 PM Gillette AFL Grand Final Sprint heats and final Same
12:50 PM 10:50 PM Lifebroker Goal and Mark of the Year announcement and the Toyota Unbreakable Moments. Coleman Medal presented to Jarryd Roughead by Malcolm Blight Same
12:55 PM 10:55 PM     Delivery of match footballs to Umpires Same
1.00 PM 11:00 PM     On field pre-match set up;  TSN2 joins the coverage (tentative and may change).. Seven game coverage begins. TSN2 (?) /radio
1:08 PM 11:08 PM Welcome to Country by Wurundjeri elder Aunty Joy Murphy. NIRS begins radio coverage. Same
1:20 PM 11:20 PM NAB Auskick kids perform. Same
1:30 PM 11:30 PM 2:00 PM 12:00 MN Channel 7 Australia is the lead broadcaster and the commentary team is lead by Bruce McAvaney and Dennis Cometti with Leigh Matthews, Tim Watson, Tom Harley, Matthew Richardson, Brian Taylor, Luke Darcy, Cameron Ling, Sam Lane, Dr Peter Larkins, Hamish McLachlan and Basil Zempilas. Same
1:31 PM 11:31 PM     Team highlights on screen and on banners Same
1:40 PM 11:40 PM 1:55 PM 11:55 PM Preliminary on field warm up opportunity for competing clubs Same
1:51 PM 11:51 PM Pre-match entertainment begins. Birds of Tokyo perform. Same
2.00 PM 12:00 MN  2:08 PM  12:08 AM Retiring players presentation with around the ground motorcade. See list below this timeline. GoldFM begins radio coverage. Same
2:05 PM 12:05 AM Mike Brady performs "Up There Cazaly" and "One Day in September" Same
2:08 PM 12:08 AM     Virgin aircraft fly over. Same
2:12 PM 12:12 AM     Cheer squads and banners set Same
2.12 PM 12:12 AM     Umpires enter the arena on cue (Brett Rosebury, Mathew Nicholls, and Simon Meredith.  Matt Stevic [emergency]) Same
2.14 PM 12:14 AM     Fremantle enters the arena on cue & team photo Same
2.17 PM 12:17 AM     Hawthorn enters the arena on cue & team photo Same
2:25 PM 12:25 AM Delivery of the premiership cup by club legends.  Same
2.26 PM 12:26 AM     Australian National Anthem ("Advance Australia Fair") sung by Tina Arena Same
2.28 PM 12:28 AM     Two sirens sound and Toss of Coin       Same
2.30 PM 12:30 AM     2013 Toyota AFL Grand Final commences. Fox Soccer Plus (FSP) joins coverage. FSP / TSN2 /radio
3.40 PM 1:40 AM     (times approx.) Half time (25 mins) – Entertainment by Hunters & Collectors Same
5:15 PM 3:15 AM     (times approx.) End of match; AFL Grand Final presentations Same
        Kevin Sheedy will present the Jock McHale Medal to the winning Grand Final coach and Greg Williams will present the Norm Smith Medal to this year's best on ground during the Grand Final.
        Runners up team captain to dais; Norm Smith Medallist to dais; Winning team captain to dais, Premiership medallions presented by NAB AFL Auskick competitors. Premiership Cup presented by either TBA if Hawthorn wins and and TBA if Fremantle wins followed by team photo.  
5:30 PM 3:30 AM FSP coverage ends. TSN2 (?) /radio
6:00 PM 4:00 AM     Post match events and television coverage concludes on TSN2. Radio coverage on GoldFM and K-Rock concludes. Radio only from this point
6:00 PM 4:00 AM     After Match Concert begins at MCG,Birds of Tokyo and Hunters & Collectors perform on MCG ground. Same as above.
6:10 PM 4:10 AM     Media Conference - Runners Up Same
6:30 PM 4:30 AM Radio coverage on NIRS and Crocmedia concludes. Same
6:35 PM 4:35 AM     Media Conference - Premiers Same
7:00 PM 5:00 AM Radio coverage on 3AW, SEN, ABC, and FiveAA concludes. None
7:20 PM 5:20 AM Premiers on-field presentation to the public. None
8:00 PM 6:00 AM     Presentation of Winning Team at MCG. Radio coverage on Triple M and 6PR concludes. None


Hall of Fame
Scott West
Brian Peake
Hass Mann
Rick Davies
Bryan Sheehan
Matthew Lloyd

Legend of the Game
Royce Hart

Retiring Greats
Chad Cornes
Dean Brogan
Stephen McBurney
Jason Blake
Jude Bolton
Aaron Davey
Andrew Embley
Justin Koschitzke
Martin Mattner
Adam McPhee
David Rodan
Adam Selwood
* Those in around the ground motorcade prior to match TBA.

Coleman Medallist
Jarred Roughead

Brownlow Medallist
Gary Ablett, Jr.

Rising Star
Jaeger O'Meara

Article last changed on Thursday, September 26, 2013 - 6:59 PM EDT

Recent content


Our Favorite Footy Podcasts

A Yank on the Footy


Donnie's Disposal


Americans Watching the Footy

Shorten URLs



We Recommend:


  • The future of vitamins is here! Say goodbye to generic multivitamins cluttering your table top. 
  • With Vitable, you get personalized daily vitamin packs tailored to your unique diet, lifestyle and health needs.
  • All you need to do is complete a simple online quiz and unlock your expert recommendation. 
  • Join the 400,000+ people embracing the Vitable way with 40% OFF your first order
  • Use the promo code AFANA40 at checkout.