Skip to main content

by Lisa Albergo reporting for AFANA from Chicago

Sydney may have lost the Grand Final to Hawthorn, but Coach John Longmire enjoyed an individual victory over opposition Coach Alistair Clarkson when he was named Coach of the Year, winning the Allan Jeans award by one vote over Clarkson just a few days before the Grand Final. It is the second win for Longmire, the previous award coming in 2012. Port Coach Ken Hinkley won in 2013.

Coaching great Kevin Sheedy was announced as the sixth AFLCA Legend, with Richmond Coach Damien Hardwick presenting the award. Sheedy joins other greats in John Kennedy snr (2009), Ron Barassi (2010), Tom Hafey (2011), David Parkin (2012) and Leigh Matthews (2013) in the coaching Hall of Fame. Former Melbourne coach Neale Daniher, who recently announced he is battling ALS, was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Hawthorn Football Manager Chris Fagan accepted the award on behalf of Daniher. Western Bulldogs assistant coach Brent Montgomery was voted as the Assistant Coach of the Year.

Several players were also presented with coaches' awards. These awards are based on a player's performance over the course of two seasons. Port's Robbie Gray was named best player with 116 votes. Behind him were Docker Nat Fyfe (100 votes) and Sydney's Josh Kennedy (83 votes). Gold Coast Coach Guy McKenna accepted the Best Young Player award on behalf of Jaeger O'Meara (in London for dual knee surgery). O'Meara won narrowly over Port's Ollie Wines and Bulldog Jack Macrae.


Article last changed on Monday, May 28, 2018 - 5:36 PM EDT

Recent content